Central Oregon Shares the Word Via Television

February 01, 2016 | Lorene Ferguson

Christ Loves You Broadcasting was started when a dedicated group of church members got together to pray for the Lord to help bring 3ABN (Three Angels Broadcasting Network) television programming to central Oregon.

The Lord answered when central Oregon Adventists received a permit to build a low power television (LPTV) station in April 1990. With great anticipation, the group met the next month to elect officers, form committees and plan for the 3ABN broadcasting debut. The new officers included Jack Dillon, president; Art Bigelow, vice president; Doris Page, treasure; Jeanne Brower, secretary; and Julie Rombach, advertising and publicity.

Larry Ferguson became station manager in 2006. Christ Loves You Broadcasting (CLU-TV) is dedicated to bringing Christ-centered television to central Oregon. Its purpose is to bring its listeners programming that will lead them to the love Jesus Christ has for them.

The CLU-TV station manager changed CLU-TV from analog to digital in June 2009 and began operating off of Mount Grizzly. This made it possible for CLU-TV to broadcast 3ABN, 3ABN Latino, Hope Channel and Loma Linda Broadcasting Network.

Dillon and Bigelow stepped down in 2012, and Arland Sanborn was voted in as president. 

In February of 2013, Christ Loves You Broadcasting Inc. became a 501(c)(3) corporation. The station is dedicated to the broadcasting of multifaceted television programs that are uplifting and lead to holistic Christ-centered living. CLU-TV aims to show the love of Jesus Christ and thus the love of God for all His creatures.

Christ Loves You Broadcasting is a viewer-supported nonprofit television station. CLU-TV is supported by donations and volunteers and not subsidized by the Adventist Church or 3ABN.

The station was moved from Three Sisters School in Bend to a room in the Redmond Church in October 2015, and equipment for the new station is getting set up. CLU-TV board members include Arland Sanborn, president; Larry Ferguson, station manager; Doris Page, treasurer; Jeanne Brower, secretary; Randy Cottrell, webmaster; and Doug Buzbee and Gerry Driver, board members.