Officers Lead Senior Class Toward First WWU Graduation

In September 2007, Walla Walla College, as it had been known since its founding in 1892, changed its name to Walla Walla University. This means the class of 2008 is the first class to graduate from WWU.

In June, nearly 400 seniors will fill the front rows of Centennial Green with black robes, tassels and loud cheering. Among them will be the officers who led them through their last year at WWU. The officers of the class of 2008 are:

Aaron Linfoot (finance), president; Jessica (Russell) Lee (nursing) and Luke Roesel (nursing), Portland Campus co-presidents; Megan Eklund (international business administration), vice president; Jasper Gutierrez (business administration in accounting), financial vice president; Erin Buchanan (speech communication), spiritual vice president; Sam Sanderson (social work), social vice president; Sara Neisner (health and pre-med), secretary; Brett Maynor (health science), parliamentarian; Barb Panata (biology and pre-med), class gift officer; and Matthew Klein (engineering), director of music.

WWU Commencement 2008 will take place on Sunday, June 15, at 8:30 a.m. on the Centennial Green. For a complete list of graduation weekend events, visit

May 01, 2008 / Walla Walla University

Becky St. Clair